BU vs. Cincinnati

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which school?

• BU

Votes: 22 56.4%
  • Cincinnati

Votes: 17 43.6%

• Total voters

megan1010

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been trying to decide between these two schools. For some background, I am a non-traditional student and through a program at BU have learned about the medical faculty. They really care about feedback from students and seem to be big on mentoring and improving education. Both schools have similar class sizes and both seemed to have a similar environment in terms of collaboration and support. I am flexible with location having gone to undergrad in the west coast and also having lived in the east coast. I am interested in neurosurgery and have done research in the field for a few years now. I am also slightly leaning to potentially having a career in academic medicine. Research opportunities in neurosurgery are also important for me given my interest in it and its competitiveness. I don't have a particularly strong interest in pediatrics, but I haven't written it off. They both are great schools, both have lots of funding, both P/F, both have Medical Spanish electives, both have time for research (but looks like it's mostly into 4th year or b/t summers), lectures recorded, and cost isn't a huge factor for me, although I did include it. I don't have any major ties in terms of family for either place. I have a bit of a bias for BU since it's familiar for me and my experience there has been positive, but I'm hoping to maybe get some outside views/opinions. Does anyone have any input that would maybe guide me further in making a choice? I'm having trouble letting either school go.

BU:
+ Integrated curriculum (although new)
+ Boston location (familiar since I've lived here)
+ Tight-knit community
+ Passionate faculty and huge support for students