choosing between KCUMB, AT Still SOMA and AT Still KCOM...and maybe LECOM BR

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

joyfulll

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am new to SDN, and I know that similar posts probably exist; however, I am going a bit crazy trying to choose between the schools. I would really appreciate your opinion here:

KCOM:
Like: the founding school(= great reputation), a bit higher ability to specialize compare to other schools, uses ultrasound, seems like KCOM is more selective than other schools I got into, friendly faculty
Dislike: they 'tweek' their curriculum every year transitioning from traditional to genesis(= smells like instability), very small town

SOMA:
Like: got my first choice CHC(Brooklyn, New York), great location for all 4 years, new facilities
Dislike: new school, strong primary care emphasis (=not interested in FM or Ob/GYN or Ped), I get stuck with 10 students for all 3 years (could be good or bad)

KCUMB:
Like: great curriculum (genesis), old school(= good reputation), own student-run clinic and Score-1 program(=a lot of hands on experience), bigger city than Kirksville, super friendly/happy students and faculty
Dislike: feels less selective, some people say that 3rd year is a bit more disorganized than other schools, >250 students and => less attention to individual students

LECOM Br:
Like: tuition, I've heard that students do great on boards, weather
Dislike: PBL (my personal preference), students look exhausted, does not have a strong reputation

I am still in process of making a decision...leaning a bit more toward KCOM and KCUMB. I have about a week and a half to pay my first deposit. I would appreciate any input!!!

Members don't see this ad.

SOMA is my school, and yes it's newer. I'm a 3rd year and will be in the 5th graduating class.