UNC vs Wake vs Miami

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mdwildcat

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a NC resident accepted to these three schools and am wondering to those who interviewed/accepted/attend any of them whether they could give me some perspective for making my decision. I was offered pretty much a full ride at Wake, in-state tuition at Miami, and still no news regarding financial aid at UNC. Finances weigh a lot but I just wanted to see if anyone might have some good advice?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a NC resident accepted to these three schools and am wondering to those who interviewed/accepted/attend any of them whether they could give me some perspective for making my decision. I was offered pretty much a full ride at Wake, in-state tuition at Miami, and still no news regarding financial aid at UNC. Finances weigh a lot but I just wanted to see if anyone might have some good advice?

I'd go with the full ride at Wake... It seems like not having to consider your overall loan debt when selecting a specialty would at least be a small perk. Plus, Winston-Salem would be a cool city to go to med school in.

Instate tuition isn't that bad, so I wouldn't blame you for choosing UNC or Miami if you really liked the program... although I'd imagine the cost of living at Miami may be a little higher than in Chapel Hill.

Best of luck next year regardless of where you end up :thumbup:

By full-ride, do you mean tuition or your entire costs? If it's the former, I'd go to UNC - isn't UNC's tuition really low for IS students?

Members don't see this ad :)
The "full ride" is full tuition and basically only $8500 to take out in loans. And yes, IS students is a hella lot cheaper. I really like all three schools but I would say Wake probably ranks 3rd of the 3. Just wondering if there are others out there turning down money to go to their favorite school.