UCSD vs Univ of Michigan

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UCSD or Univ of Michigan

• UCSD

Votes: 27 56.3%
  • UMich

Votes: 21 43.8%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ajj377

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've seen a lot of threads asking about UMich and UCSD but none that compare the two. Since the May 15 deadline is coming up really soon, I thought I'd ask this last minute question on SDN.

I'm a CA resident, so UCSD will be much cheaper for me (about 15K a year less). I didn't receive scholarships at either school. At this point, I'm leaning towards UCSD because it will be cheaper and I'd like to live in Cali. But, I like UMich more. And the rumors about UCSD being competitive and a hard school scare me a little! :p So, which school would you go to and why? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm the type of person who is affected alot by surroundings. I have been to Michigan and Cali, and I would choose UCSD over mich any old day. Not to mention, being closer to family and the price - - - being less constrained by money after graduating is a huge consideration. Plus, they are both great schools. Good luck wherever you end up!

Hands down UCSD.. there's no question here. You'll save a metric ****-ton of money, you'll receive an amazing education (if not better than what you could get at michigan), and have plenty of opportunities to pursue research/clinical extracurriculars. Not to mention that San Diego flat out has the best weather in all of the US. I'll see you here in a few months.

(bias: went to UCSD for undergrad and heading there for medical school)

Members don't see this ad :)