DukeMed vs University of Cambridge (England)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

What option would you choose?

• Duke. 4years. $240,000

• University of Cambridge. 5years. $75,000

Results are only viewable after voting.

europeresearch

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an international student who has been in the US for the past 5 years. Due to a previous unsuccessful medical school application cycle, this time I decided to try an apply abroad just in case. I am European, so I thought that applying to school in the UK would be a good call.

Fast forward 6 months. I have narrowed it down to two options.

- Duke School of Medicine: 4 year program in NC. Awesome 3rd year.
- Cost: $60K per year (including financial aid). Possibility of research funding for 3rd year.
Total cost: $180K-240K
- University of Cambridge: 5 year program in England. 2 years of pre-clinical, 3 years of clinical. It is kind of like undergrad: I would be in a dorm, possibly in a varsity athletic team, etc.
- Cost: $15K per year (including scholarship).
Total cost: $75K

My primary medical interests are specialized surgeries (neuro, cardiac, plastic...)

I like Duke because I really like the US and it would be the straightforward path to match into an American residency. However, I have never really lived in the UK so I do not know whether I would like it there as well.

It is important to consider that I can not get private loans in the US, so the full $60K/year would have to come from my parents, who would have to get a loan for me.

I know that they are both great options, and that I would probably love it in either place, but I also know that my future will be completely different depending on which option I choose, so any opinions and thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.