Western-Pomona vs WVSOM vs Touro-NV

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

J15B

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I have been accepted to WVSOM and Touro-NV and am awaiting Western's decision (I feel like the interview went well...) and was wondering if you could help sway my opinion one way or the other as right now these are my top three choices. I also got into Touro-Cali and LECOM-B but did not like these schools as much as the other three.

I am a SoCal resident and definitely want to do residency here, so I think it is important that I do rotations here.

WVSOM requires all 3rd year rotations in WV (I think with some exceptions in Pennsylvania and Ohio?), so this would only leave me 4th year to get out to California. Is this enough time to create connections to help me match for residency? The people at WVSOM were incredibly nice and the campus is beautiful, and there seems to be a lot of outdoor activities, and also, although it is a small town, the local pub seems to be the place to be after exams (I got to experience this and it was a blast). Sadly I heard that the simulators (robots) are only used like twice by students in their curriculum. Is this true? Another thing I loved is the open-door policy for professors, and that the president of the school literally leaves out candy to entice the students to come to his office so he can get to know them better. It seems like getting to know faculty is really easy, especially because they say that their main purpose is being there for the students, and research and such comes secondary.

Touro-NV also seemed to have a nice open-door policy with professors and the area was great as well (went hiking at Red Rock which was tight and of course hit up the strip later on). What are rotations like? Are there many opportunities available in California as well?