Starting to regret going to an osteopathic school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FrustratedDO

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
First off, let me make it abundantly clear that I am NOT trying to start a flame war. I know how touchy these subjects can be. I really want a chance to vent and see if there are others out there who share my opinions.

I'm a first year DO student. While I was in undergrad, I was very, very enthusiastic about going to a DO school. I looked at it as a place where the alleged 'gunner-ism' and competitive atmosphere of the allopathic schools would be absent. My main reasons for wanting to be a DO was a more patient-centered thinking that the schools encouraged. My GPA and MCAT were competitive for MD and DO schools, so its not like I was forced into choosing a DO school because I couldn?t get in anywhere else. I genuinely wanted to be a DO.

But since the beginning of the year, I am getting more and more disgusted and dismayed at the attitudes of some of my classmates and of the faculty. Actually, not all of the faculty, just the OMM department.

I've never been a big fan of alternative medicine, so when my classmates started to talk about acupuncture and herbs and junk, I remained silent. So many of them were so excited about it. I'm skeptical, but I wanted to give OMM a chance. I began the year with an open mind, but at this point, I'm disgusted.

OMM is the sacred cow of the DO world. And the OMM faculty are the ones who enforce the religion. And they treat it like a religion - as if you have to 'believe' in order for it to work. I'm so sick and tired of being forced to 'drink the kool-aid' of a OMM. The fact that cranial osteopathy is even taught nowadays is enough to make me gag. Its embarrassing and frankly, it makes us look like fools as a profession.