Why you should not attend a DO school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ResidentEvil

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Current lurker, rare poster on SDN.

I'm a second year resident in an allopathic institution, and a graduate of a DO program in 2002.

There's a lot of talk on this website about the new DO schools that are opening up (PCOM in Atlanta, LECOM in Florida, some school in Vegas, VCOM recently), and I feel I just have to let this out.

DO schools are the biggest money makers out there and they do NOT care about YOU as the student whatsoever. All you are doing is lining the pockets of the Dean, the administration, and the PRIVATE owners of the school.

My tuition in medical school started at 20k. When I ended, it was 28k. Why did I have to pay so much?

Ok, fair enough, the private MD school's tuition is roughly the same. But here's where the schools make their money (its a big secret, but I'm going to let it out):

When a medical student is in their third and fourth year, your attendings are paid by the school/university to teach you, to have you on their team. Your surgeon, your IM attending, your pediatrician attending... all reimbursed by the school (not much but enough) to take you in under their wing. Your tuition pays for this.

However, in the DO medical education system, your third and fourth year attendings are VOLUNTEERS. It is against the AOA philosophy to PAY the attendings. So, your school still collects the same tuition that the MD institutions are charging (that they use to pay the attnedings), and POCKETS the difference. This is a HUGE money maker. Think about it:

100 students. 30k a year tuition. That's 3 million a year. Multiply that by 4 years worth of students: $12 million a year, PER year. Since the third and fourth year students dont' require much expenditure, the school pockets the money.