SUNY Downstate vs University of Arizona

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

awang85284

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I was recently accepted to both these schools on the waitlist. I am an Arizona resident, but I also like the experience I could get clinically at suny. Any information or opinions would be very helpful.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I was recently accepted to both these schools on the waitlist. I am an Arizona resident, but I also like the experience I could get clinically at suny. Any information or opinions would be very helpful.

Thanks

I'd say go with what costs less....but one thing that I guess we should all know is whether the clinical experience at UofA is significantly different from Downstate? If it is indeed, then you may want to consider Downstate, but I'd say stick with UofA assuming it's cheaper and located in a "better area".

If I'm reading this correct, the tuition is ~11k per semester. You will save a good deal of money going to Arizona considering cost of living is also substantially lower. Go with Arizona.

Members don't see this ad :)
If I'm reading this correct, the tuition is ~11k per semester. You will save a good deal of money going to Arizona considering cost of living is also substantially lower. Go with Arizona.

Tuition is not that low. It's about the same as the in state tuition as suny I think. Though cost of living would be higher. Another factor making this difficult for me to decide is that I have spent 4 years as an undergrad at Arizona, and this may be an exciting experience going to school in new York. But maybe I'm just being stupid even questioning to go to suny over az.