Specialty Decision

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TankTuck

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I am a 3rd year med student trying to figure out what the hell I want to do for the rest of my life and was wondering if any more experienced people could give me some advice. I have always been an active guy and into sports, drawing me to the sports med major in undergrad. Anyway, I am a DO student, scored close to a 240 on Step 1, have very little research experience, but my extracurricular's and grades are good/great.

Looking in on the future, I can definitely picture myself doing SM and it sweetens the deal that I could use and benefit off of the OTM that I spent so many hours developing. Where the cross roads comes is the pressure I have had from my friends, classmates and adviser to pursue something more competitive than family medicine residency followed by a SM fellowship and they see me as "wasting" my board scores. These would be the "lifestyle" specialties, two that have always popped out to me are EM and Rads. I love south west/west and it would be a total bummer for me to have to move back to the midwest just to pursue a "lifestyle" residency.

Finally, a field I know less about, PM&R sparks my interest. From my limited research, it sounds like PM&R may receive more MSK training right off the bat and is proficient in the use of EMG's, which is important to me. The issue I see with this field and my app is that I have minimal research and the 2016 stats on PM&R showed 8.4 research projects on average per matched applicant. Also there are far less PM&R residencies, especially with a SM fellowship than family med.

Any advice would be highly appreciated!

TLDR: considering residency, what is the best route to a successful Sports Medicine practice?

Members don't see this ad.