OSU vs Wisc vs UVM vs Downstate

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rutinni

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I've gotten into two schools so far (Ohio State and Univ. of Wisconsin), and I'm waiting to hear back from another two (SUNY Downstate and Univ. of Vermont).

I really liked Ohio State's ISP curriculum, but I couldn't get away from the unnerving sensation that everything was, well, flat. Madison's a great school, but nothing about it really caught my attention. Vermont was great and I loved Burlington, but it's expensive as an out-of-state student. Downstate offers great clinical experience, but my wife got mugged in the subway on her way to meet me after the interview.

Any thoughts/guidance/advice? As a note, I am a non-traditional student with a wife and infant kid...

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Don't worry about curriculum too much. It's really not that important. You're going to learn everything during the first two years on your own anyways.

What's important educationally is how the clinical years are set up. Being that you have a family at UW you could do all of your clinicals in Madison, which would be pretty nice.

Beyond that, I'd focus on your decision on where you would like to spend the next four years. I think Madison is a significantly nicer place to raise a family personally, but ymmv.

So, I've gotten into two schools so far (Ohio State and Univ. of Wisconsin), and I'm waiting to hear back from another two (SUNY Downstate and Univ. of Vermont).