Im a sophomore and need advise

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ion1776

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hows it going everyone? Im new to the site. Im currently a sophomore at the University of Tennessee.

Major: Political Science

Science Classes taken

General Chemistry 1 Grade: B
General Chemistry 2 Grade: C
Organic Chemistry 1 Grade:
Organic Chemistry 2 Grade:
Organic Chemistry Lab (2 credit, separate class from OC 2) Grade:

General Biology 1 Grade: A
General Biology 2 Grade: B

Pre-Calculus Grade: A
Calculus I Grade: A
Calculus II Grade: A

Physics I Grade:
Physics II Grade:

MCAT SCORE: 34

Ive only taken these since these are what most medical schools require. I dont plan on taking more, unless it is vital that I do.

I believe hopefully I'll get all in A's in the poly Sci classes.

Extra Curriculars (I have time to do much more before I apply)

1. Intern at 3 doctor's offices (job shadowing basically)
Total hours: 375 hours

All advise and comments welcome.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Well I havent checked what my GPA is, im assuming the medical schools have their own way of checking GPAs. right?, they dont just take it from the undergrad school. Plus I only have 60 hours completed so far at my university.

Members don't see this ad :)
Well I havent checked what my GPA is, im assuming the medical schools have their own way of checking GPAs. right?, they dont just take it from the undergrad school. Plus I only have 60 hours completed so far at my university.

check your unofficial transcript from your school....it is usually calculated at the bottom with all your classes.

Ill try and look it up right now...

Just ran back from registrar's "computer" area....Heres what it says

GPA: 3.71

Im assuming science GPA means physics, bio, chem, orgo chem, math...

From my calculations Science GPA: 3.55 (I dont want to take more science classes...lol)