I think the poop just hit the fan

MedWonk

高飛車
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a post-bacc student, and my fiancee got her visa so she can come over, but it expires next week. She has a plane ticket, with return, but I'm starting to have misgivings about it working right now from a financial standpoint.

I just got a full-time job, but it pays poorly ($10/hr), and she won't be able to find work until she gets her work permit, which takes about four months to get. Between us, we have about 16k in savings, and I wouldn't be entering med school for another 18 months.

I had been living with my parents throughout my post-bacc, which isn't ideal, but it saves money. My parents are very much against us marrying, mainly because they think don't have the resources to do so, which is understandable. This was after asking my parents if we could live their while I apply to med school. Of course, we would be paying for utilities, our own food, etc., but they don't seem keen on the idea. The cheapest rent I can find is about $700, and there's no easy access to public transportation, which is a little problematic, since my fiancee can't drive (she's lived her entire life in a large city with easy access to public transport; obviously she would have to learn).

I don't want to put us both in debt before I would actually have to put us in debt due to med school, and she isn't very keen on waiting it out for another couple years (we haven't been together for 2.5 years, only a two-week visit last year).

So, I've come down to three options that I can think of:

1) Take the $700 apartment (Not ideal, but maybe manageable)
2) Ask to live with sister in spare room in exchange for rent (I don't like this option)
3) Let her come over for a visit, and send her back on her way, potentially straining the relationship beyond repair (I hate this option)

Any advice? What would you do in my position?

Members don't see this ad.