D.P.T. versus Chiropractor

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PostLessOne

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a friend who is considering going to PT school. To be honest, she looks like she could fit right in among the class of PTs I studied in the same class with last year.

While volunteering at a clinic to get the hours in for a PT school application, she encountered a chiropractor working in the same clinic who told her it was the way to go - similar job, more money.

So here's the pluses she outlined to me :

median income of 105k/year for chiropractors versus 80k for PTs.
She could start this summer at a local chiropractor school rather than needing another year to apply.
Chiropractor school is slightly over 3 years long rather than 4 years, and since she saves a year from not having application delays, she would be done with school 2 years early.

All compelling arguments. She visited the school, said they seemed credible, with a cadavar lab and so forth. They told her why other schools give chiropractors a bad name, and told her that medicare now pays for chiropractic care, giving it a sheen of legitimacy.

Well, I don't know. Obviously what gives me pause is that I don't really understand what chiropractors do, and I have heard many places that there isn't any scientific evidence for it's efficacy. That it's more or less a money making scam. Sure, it might pay more now, but building your long term career on an up selling lie doesn't necessarily seem to be the best decision. There doesn't appear to be an official chiropractor forum here, which is not a good sign, either.

What do you think? I'm sure some of you have researched this decision better than I have.

Edit : according to salary.com the median salary for a PT is 70k and for a chiropractor it is 85k. A similar % difference. In any case, the difference in time of 2 years is worth quite a lot to her.

Members don't see this ad.