28yo, deaf, and need serious advice and perspective from you

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BeastOfBurden

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone how are you? Thank you for taking a look at my post and I seriously appreciate from the bottom of my heart any advice and input you can offer.

I am asking for some serious advice here and would love your perspective. Im 28 years old and was born deaf always had hearing aids and did ok in school albeit significant difficulty. I graduated with a bachelor of science in business (probably the worst mistake of my life). Worked for a bit in NYC and hated it, it was also difficult to get ahead due to no opportunities and the insane competition and my disability. I also went through medical problems such as Meniere’s Disease and chronic fatigue because of the medication for the treatment. In short – life was completely derailed. I went back home to deal with the medical issues and because I had nowhere to turn to. This all happened over the last 5 years after finishing college.

I recently got a cochlear implant, which was a huge blessing. It is a million times better than hearing aids. I wish I had gotten one before college.

While going to training on how to use the implant, which was done out of a university health school, I met several PT students and started hanging around the PT program and asking questions. I really think that this might be for me. I did a lot of reading up on what is needed and I am not sure if I will be making a SMART decision or not. I am 28 years old, I have a undergrad GPA of 2.4 and require taking nearly all pre reqs and the GPA. I am not even sure how long that will take.