2013 Public Health Application Thread

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

I hope it is not too early to start this thread. This is meant for all applicants (MPH, DrPH, MHA, MS, etc.) interested in degrees related to public health and are applying for the 2012-2013 application cycle for the entering class of 2013.

Questions, answers, random thoughts - all helpful and useful.

LET'S. DO. THIS! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Thanks for making this! I'm looking to get an mph right out of undergrad (going into my senior year now). How many schools do people usually apply to? I've narrowed it down to 11 but I know that's probably too many. :shrug:

I cannot really say how many programs, on average, folks apply to. I am new to this process, as well. I suppose a lot will depend on how much you are willing to pay for EACH submitted application through the SOPHAS.

Members don't see this ad :)
Do folks have thoughts about submitting either a resume or a Cv? Many programs request "resume or CV." How do you decide which to submit?

I know the difference between the two. I imagine that those applying for doctoral-level public health programs (e.g., PhD, DrPH), particularly those hoping for academic or research positions, would submit a CV. Any thoughts around competitiveness issues of submitting one over the other? Thanks in advance!

Thanks for making this! I'm looking to get an mph right out of undergrad (going into my senior year now). How many schools do people usually apply to? I've narrowed it down to 11 but I know that's probably too many. :shrug: