Worth it to present poster abstract in person at conference?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

docren004

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a third year med student and my abstract got accepted to a prestigious conference for a different field than I want to do residency in for a “Poster Presentation (Onsite) and ePoster.” My school has awarded me a travel scholarship to attend the conference, that will only reimburse me for my actual travel expenses. However, it may not be enough to cover the actual expenses, so I’d probably wind up paying out of pocket to go. I’ve read online that poster presentations are, in reality, usually pointless wastes of time.

Will it help me get into residency to fly to the conference and “present” the poster in person? I’m registered for the conference online currently. Can I just say on ERAS that I attended the conference, presented the poster, and was awarded a travel scholarship, and just not mention that it was all virtual and I never actually took any money out of the scholarship I was awarded?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
What expenses are "travel expenses" but not "actual expenses?" Like food or something?

Going to a conference can be kind of fun, and there are usually some student/young investigator type mixers where you can get some good networking in. If cost is an issue, you could always just fly in for the day of your poster presentation and not stay for the whole conference. Even if you're not going into that field you never know how random connections can wind up being useful. But to directly answer your question, yes, you can list all of that on your CV even if you just present virtually.

Whether or not your school will be super thrilled that they awarded you a scholarship that could have gone to someone else is a separate question you should ponder.

Reactions: 3 users