Worth a shot to apply this cycle?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Daja

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an older IMG and just passed all the USMLEs. I have US citizenship.
But I have no current US clinical experience and hence no LORs. I plan to try to do some rotations this year and probably apply to (Psychiatry or Anesthesiology) residency programs next year. I know I am not in an easy situation, but giving this medical career another chance.
Can anybody tell me if it is a bad idea (apart from the waste of money) to apply in this MATCH cycle without LORs, just to give it a shot? Will the programs just chuck out the applications or could this look bad if I want to apply to the same program next year?
Thanks for any input, the internet is pretty much my only source...

Members don't see this ad.

Programs will just chuck out your application if they don't have any LORs.

Maybe I've spent too much time on here answering these kinds of questions, but I honestly wonder what kind of miracle you are hoping for by applying with an incomplete application. There are already not enough residency spots for the IMGs who pass everything on the first attempt, have USCE, and solids LORs--why would you think that a program would be interested in an application with less? If you apply, I doubt that you will damage your chances in the future, as it's unlikely they will remember a random person they summarily rejected a year ago for having an incomplete application, but it will definitely be a waste of time and money.

Reactions: 2 users
If you actually have NO LOR's, then your app won't be looked at.

If you have LOR's from your home country, but no US LOR's, then your app will be reviewed but chances are less than ideal.

In any case, you can't really hurt yourself by applying, other than the waste of money.

Reactions: 1 user