When to start looking for jobs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TrueWolverine

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Apologies if this has been answered in some thread and I couldn't find it.

When in residency do you guys think it's time to start looking for jobs? Obviously don't want to start too early but would also like to be ahead of the game (I'm currently in my second year). I met with a couple of the physician recruiters at my hospital (not looking to stay in the area) and for the most part they were pretty helpful. They said it's not too early to start looking so I'm curious what your thoughts are.

Could it hurt to start looking this early? I guess my concern is that I start looking, get a few offers, but miss out on opportunities later because they weren't ready to hire for next year at this moment. Do I wait for the "right moment" and then just apply everywhere I'm looking so all jobs are on roughly the same timeline?

I've got my CV, cover letter, and references all ready to go. Just not sure when to take the plunge.

Members don't see this ad.

Browse and network - year 1
Apply and call around... maybe secure a job - year 2
Better get on it - year 3

BTW a good way to improve your “volunteer work” for CV this early in your career would involve becoming a journal peer-reviewer... just food for thought.

Reactions: 3 users
Asked a similar question on “job offer threads” and got some good responses. Also a second year resident. To add, if we apply with our current CV which is obviously incomplete (still have 1-2 courses to take, need to finish surgery cases, did not take boards yet) will employers even take us seriously? Thanks

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
They should def take you seriously. They know you are in training and understand the board / surg training and case load discrepancies.