What will be my chances ( studying for MCAT need to set a goal)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Timeless:)

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am currently studying for MCAT. I know the higher the score the better, but I want to set a realistic goal.

By the time I apply to medical school I will have:

cGPA: 3.82 sGPA: 3.84 (upward trend) From 2nd Tier undergraduate school.
Master's degree in Biology.

200~300+ Clinical hours
30+ Shadowing (If I do not include virtual shadowing hours)
200+ Non-clinical hours.
300+ Research (Will have written a thesis, maybe 2 publications if It gets approved).
Other activities such as
Intramural sport
Tutor
Teaching assistant

Red flag (?):
Have Freshman alcohol violation. (it was an unofficial warning, but our school documents it).

What MCAT should I be aiming for if I want to get into T-30 school?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
For MCAT, look up the median scores of the school(s) that you want to go to, and aim for at least that. In addition, you also want to make sure that your application "stands out," meaning that there is something that makes you a unique/qualified applicant for those schools. Top 10/30/50 schools get thousands of applications with students who have a 3.8x/516-520 MCAT, but the ones that get in are the ones that have "more" than that.

For MCAT, look up the median scores of the school(s) that you want to go to, and aim for at least that. In addition, you also want to make sure that your application "stands out," meaning that there is something that makes you a unique/qualified applicant for those schools. Top 10/30/50 schools get thousands of applications with students who have a 3.8x/516-520 MCAT, but the ones that get in are the ones that have "more" than that.
Could elaborate on the "more" part?

Members don't see this ad :)