Medical What should I do moving forward?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
  • Hi everyone, I’ve tried to speak to my pre-health advisors, but I can’t get a “straight” answer on what to do. I just got rejected during this cycle because of my metrics and need a metric revamp. I’m a socio-economically disadvantaged student BTW — I was homeless (working since 17 yrld) and have always had to pay my way through undergrad, immigrant, and ESL.
  • My story in extra detail was shown on my school news once I graduated, so you can see there for more detail here: Once homeless, USC neuroscience grad uses grit and determination to pursue his dreams
  • Metrics (Denied across the board, of course)
    • GPA overall 2.92//Science 3.18//MCAT 492
      • I was working roughly 60-75hours per week while studying for the MCAT for two months
  • I’ve been naive and rushed — but I need to slow down, which I have, so advice would be greatly appreciated.
  • I have gotten accepted to the Georgetown SMP for Fall 2021 — however that’s the thing should I go? Or should I do a DIY Post-Bacc? I also think the the UC Post-Bacc for re-apps is really good for me, thoughts?
  • If anyone could PM me I would love to share my AMCAS
Research - include any abstracts/posters/publications and how you were credited (eg. First author, senior author, etc): Around 1000 hours of research in clinical setting. Two posters & 1 publication
Volunteering (clinical) - include hours/sites: 100 hours volunteering at a children's hospital
Physician shadowing - include hours/specialties: 500 hours shadowing a neurosurgeon cardiologist and 10 shadowing an orthopedic surgeon. 100 hours on call with a resident neurosurgeon
Non-clinical volunteering: 4500 hours as president for transfer students at my undergrad institution. Did a lot… large list but major was to enact academic policy that helps underserved students that potential fail out.