Medical How should I move forward?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello I would like some guidance on what would be a better move for me.
I am studying to retake MCAT and plan to take it in the early 2021 year. However, I am considering also retaking a few of my classes that I didn’t do well in. I am an older student so I know the odds are against me in that regard. But I am willing to give it another try.
I took MCAT 3 times in 2016. I ONLY applied 1 time because I was sure I would do well.
My practice exam showed an nice increase but when I took the exam my score was not good. I am considering DO....what’s best for me at this point? I didn’t even want to start the application process until next year.
What were your scores?

GPAs?

Your MCAT has expired and so you will need to retake it; only do this when you are 100% ready.

Members don't see this ad.

My GPA was low...I should have left and took an incomplete until I was sure I could concentrate but instead I took the route of trying to complete my classes because I could see my mother was getting ill.
Well it took a term for the worse and so did my grades. I know the courses I did bad in but I wasn’t sure if I should go ahead a do a masters or post Bacc or just retake those courses. My MCAT score were very low.
The last one ONLY increased by 10 points or so but the practice test I took were high scores like 514,509.

I know it doesn’t look good. I am much older than the average applicant but I owe it to myself to try again. I was scheduled to take MCAT and backed out because I didn’t see enough of a jump to feel like I would do well.

I figured I would ask anonymously because of such negative push back that I never get much of an answer. Anyways, Thank You kindly for your response. I Really do appreciate it.

Look up my post on REINVENTION for premeds