Was this unreasonable?

D

deleted263296

Well, basically I've been with my girlfriend for about many years. We met in high school and went to college together and both of us went to medical school, she a year ahead of me because I studied abroad. I chose to go to a "better" school that was a few hours drive away (I realize this makes me look uncommitted) and we have maintained a long-distance relationship so far. Well, she is a fourth year student now and I'm a third year, and she wanted me to go to her school ball the weekend before my medicine shelf and I refused. And now we've separated because I am only looking out for #1 in her opinion and only expects things to get worse. I was very surprised by this because I thought after all the time we have been together something like this would not matter but I was way off.

Members don't see this ad.

Well, basically I've been with my girlfriend for about many years. We met in high school and went to college together and both of us went to medical school, she a year ahead of me because I studied abroad. I chose to go to a "better" school that was a few hours drive away (I realize this makes me look uncommitted) and we have maintained a long-distance relationship so far. Well, she is a fourth year student now and I'm a third year, and she wanted me to go to her school ball the weekend before my medicine shelf and I refused. And now we've separated because I am only looking out for #1 in her opinion and only expects things to get worse. I was very surprised by this because I thought after all the time we have been together something like this would not matter but I was way off.
I hate to tell you this, but I think it's obvious that she is being stuffed by some other dude, probably an attending or a resident.