WAMC/school list 3.8/518

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

diamond82q

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I wanted to post my stats and school list to get some confirmation I'm applying in my league! Let me know if there's additional info you'd like or if there's too much identifying info. I am in my 4th year and applying in June, taking a gap year during app season.
  1. cGPA and sGPA as calculated by AMCAS or AACOMAS
    cGPA: 3.8, sGPA: 3.7 ish by time of applying, slight upward trend especially during junior/senior year
  2. MCAT score(s) and breakdown
    March 2022 MCAT
    518 (128/130/130/130)
  3. State of residence or country of citizenship (if non-US)
    MN resident
  4. Ethnicity and/or race
    ORM Indian Asian
  5. Undergraduate institution or category
    T20 UC
  6. Clinical experience (volunteer and non-volunteer)
    100 hours - Research Associate at hospital ED working to enroll study patients
    150 hours- Supply Manager at a university-associated free clinic (not sure I can categorize this as clinical ?)
  7. Research experience and productivity
    >6000 hours paid part-time wet lab research- definitely the highlight of my application
    Unique Alzheimers research under a postdoc, publication will be in review by time of applying, no posters
    Will be transitioning to full-time during gap year
  8. Shadowing experience and specialties represented
    200 hours- Plastic surgery and Neurology shadowing
  9. Non-clinical volunteering
    100 hours- mask making
    100 hours- running seminars on racial biases in Indian community
  10. Other extracurricular activities (including athletics, military service, gap year activities, leadership, teaching, etc)
    TA for two neurobiology courses
    Executive member in a neurotechnology club for 2 years- lots of education efforts, event organization, liaisoning with companies
    Was on undergrad research journal for 2 years