VSAS Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NecrotizingFasciitis

IR/DR PGY-2 (DO)
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everybody,

Quick question(s). I'm new to VSAS.. just kinda messing around with it right now.

I want to do an away rotation specifically in internal medicine at a couple places, but a certain school I'm looking at only has subspecialties listed to rotate in in VSAS. Is this normal? Would it provide the same benefit if I want to do IM & I'm not necessarily sure if I want to sub-specialize in anything?

Also, do the rotations offered at different schools change/update a lot in VSAS? For example, I see that a medicine away rotation is offered at a second school I'm looking at - they have a whole page of information devoted to it on their website - but I don't see it offered when I search in VSAS. It is offered to both MD & DO students, so that isn't the issue here.

Not sure when people normally submit applications either? Literally clueless over here.

Thanks!
-NF

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everybody,

Quick question(s). I'm new to VSAS.. just kinda messing around with it right now.

I want to do an away rotation specifically in internal medicine at a couple places, but a certain school I'm looking at only has subspecialties listed to rotate in in VSAS. Is this normal? Would it provide the same benefit if I want to do IM & I'm not necessarily sure if I want to sub-specialize in anything?

Also, do the rotations offered at different schools change/update a lot in VSAS? For example, I see that a medicine away rotation is offered at a second school I'm looking at - they have a whole page of information devoted to it on their website - but I don't see it offered when I search in VSAS. It is offered to both MD & DO students, so that isn't the issue here.

Not sure when people normally submit applications either? Literally clueless over here.

Thanks!
-NF