Unfair and Arbitary Practices

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HelpfulHus

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
A few weeks ago, during my externship I found out that I had failed one of my clerkship based on *Faculty Evaluation*.

No harm no foul. I imagined that since I still have a year left for my graduation. I would continue with my externships and use my personals days/holidays/weekends to make up this course again. However, I was promptly informed that such a thing cannot happen and was promptly pulled out of my externship and now rather than graduating next year 2023 ..I have been pushed to class of 2024

I am absolutely devastated with this. What's worse is that no one has any idea on why I failed. Faculty evaluation seems extremely arbitrary as they do not have to justify their reasons of failing someone. I am a comparatively good student (3.4 gpa) and passed my Step 1 in my first try.

Has anyone else gone through this ? I cannot believe that a year of my life has just gone in such an unfair arbitrary practice

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
My condolences. But time for self reflection.

i feel like to fail a clerkship you have to do something dangerous like put a patients life in jeopardy or **** the directors wife or something. OR you’re extremely socially unaware.

Did anything happen that you aren’t telling us? If nothing major happened, then I would definitely appeal it. Seems extreme.

My program had some terrible externs that we ended up hating, but we still passed them…

Reactions: 1 user
So, basically, you skipped a rotation and got caught?

Any other thing would be totally forgivable and able to remediate. Unless students are supposed to do something besides show up reasonably well, hold up the wall, answer a pimp question here or there, maybe see the lower acuity patients... what's the deal?