UMich v UCLA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

badambu

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I'm new to SDN, and need help making a decision (deadline is coming up!). I didn't see any information about this decision, so I thought I'd start a thread. If there is a thread already up, please point me in the right direction!
I am choosing between UCLA and University of Michigan, and could use your advice.

Some information that might be useful in helping me:
Northern California resident
Want to return to or stay in California
Like sunshine, nervous about the cold and slush
Michigan costs 30,000 (total) less over the four years
Cousin in Michigan
I liked Michigan's global research program
Don't know much about UCLA's global research program
Really liked the curriculum style at UCLA
Was not able to visit Ann Arbor
Sister and cousins in Los Angeles--easy access to people outside med community
Want to pursue outside interests like piano, world music, and singing (and am aware that I have to cut down on it a little!)
Planning to go into psychiatry for now, know I might change my mind
Hoping to do research in psychology, neuroscience, or behavioral econ
Interested in public health
Liked the people I met at Second Look for UCLA
Am secretly a giant hippie and love places like Santa Cruz and Berkeley
Any more questions? I'm sure I forgot something or put unnecessary info in.
Thanks for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

UCLA FTW IMO

The vast majority of those reasons either point to or are most associated with UCLA. If you want to end up in California then doing well at either school will help you achieve that. However, you can't overstate the fact that UCLA IS IN California and has all of the name/networking opportunities associated with it that Michigan simply can't offer.

Both great schools....congrats

Thanks for your reply!