Transition/preliminary year questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mightmouse678910

Reaction score
Hi, I'm currently a 4th-year medical student about applying to residency. Recently, I've made some changes to my plans. I was originally going to apply for an IM residency but now am looking to apply to a Transition year or a preliminary year. the reason being so that I may wait a year to apply in the couples match with my wife who is currently a 3rd-year medical student. I don't know much about a transition year or a preliminary year so I wanted to ask you guys. I know a research year is an option, but I would like the experience in the hospital, and I would also like the confirmed source of income when the grace from my student loans ends.

First, what is the difference between Transition Year and a Preliminary Year?

Second, How competitive would you consider transition year programs/ preliminary programs?

Third, is it possible that they may count towards your residency year, for instance, if I go into IM after my TY would it count as my intern year? I know probably not but I figured I'd ask.

Fourth, my personal statement and all of my LOR's are set up as if I am applying to an IM residency. Do you believe I need to change this?

Also, do they look bad on your application to residency after you complete them, or would you consider them a plus?

Finally, please give any advice about TY or preliminary year that you can think of as I am truly lost.

Thank you guys for everything in advance. I know this is a lot of questions I just am lost at the moment and didn't know where to turn.

Members don't see this ad.