Top Cardiology Programs (kind of)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KRichards62

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
In an attempt to avoid the inevitable pissing contest that usually happens with these discussions, I will pose this age old question a little differently. As an IM resident, I am beginning to think more specifically about cardiology fellowship. Of course there are certain programs I already have in mind but with the competitive nature of the specialty, the more options the better. I understand that each program has their own strengths and weaknesses, but unfortunately I do not know exactly what type of cardiology I want to practice yet.

NOT including the obvious (JHU, MGH, BWH, CCF, Mayo, Duke, Columbia, UCSF, Stanford, Wash U, Texas Heart, Penn, Emory, UCLA, BIDMC), what are the best cardiology programs?

Members don't see this ad.

In an attempt to avoid the inevitable pissing contest that usually happens with these discussions, I will pose this age old question a little differently. As an IM resident, I am beginning to think more specifically about cardiology fellowship. Of course there are certain programs I already have in mind but with the competitive nature of the specialty, the more options the better. I understand that each program has their own strengths and weaknesses, but unfortunately I do not know exactly what type of cardiology I want to practice yet.

NOT including the obvious (JHU, MGH, BWH, CCF, Mayo, Duke, Columbia, UCSF, Stanford, Wash U, Texas Heart, Penn, Emory, UCLA, BIDMC), what are the best cardiology programs?

would add university of washington ( esp for bench/clinical research and echo), UAB ( EP, imaging and preventive), Mount Sinai and Michigan (EP) to the list. Also Indiana, Northwestern, Vanderbilt(expanding big time) and U Chicago belong in there somewhere.