smp (barry) vs ross university. ideas?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

banana co.

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi. i am a fl resident. i applied to med school for fall 2006; to tons of places. had one interview at colorado. got rejected everywhere.

i plan on re-applying next summer.

i recently got a call from barry saying i was accepted to the 2 yr. program.

still waiting to hear from drexel msp, rosalind franklin, bu ma.ms, & nymc.

would anyone recommend barry (or other smp) over ross university? is it hard to get a US residency and/or specialize coming from ross?

much thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

im pretty much in your same place except that i didnt apply to US med schools. i couldve gone to ross but chose to do the barry smp and will be starting the 2 year program this fall. i know i can kill off those 2 years by going to ross but id rather much improve my grades and hopefully have the chance to get into a US school (DO or MD doesnt matter to me). soemtimes i see caribbean schools as trading diplomas for dollars but thats just me and i may catch a lot of heat from someone on here that may read it. in my opinion, go to barry.

Do you know anyone who has completed the Barry program and gotten in to medical school? Do you know the average GPA one would need to get to gain acceptance?

Would it only be worth it if you can make all A's

Members don't see this ad :)
future doc??? said: