Parental Leave Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drresident8288

Reaction score
I am a current PGY-3 resident in a four year program and am expecting baby number 2 with a due date of early June. I saved up 2 weeks of vacation, 2 weeks of sick leave, and 3 weeks of paid parental leave to use towards my maternity leave.

Well, this week at 20 weeks I had a cerclage placed for incompetent cervix and have been on modified bed rest for 2 weeks. My program is letting me work 3 days/week from home, so I’ve exhausted 4 of my sick days here and I’m not entirely sure what will happen from here. I was told I will have to use my sick leave, then vacation, then parental leave, then FMLA if I need extended bed rest/time off until baby is born.

My question is, if I exhausted all of sick and annual leave before baby is born, based on ACGME requirements, aren’t I still owed at least the six weeks of paid parental leave once baby is born? I don’t think they they can count my medical leave prior to baby being born as that six weeks if I have just used my vacation and sick leave for that, can they?

For example, if I need the next 5 weeks off (3 weeks of annual leave and 2 weeks of sick leave), and then I take FMLA until baby is born, I haven’t technically used my 6 weeks that ACGME mandates (and my baby hasn’t been born yet).

If I go ahead and apply for medical leave, they will make me use my vacation and sick days towards the six weeks, but if I don’t, I don’t think they can?

Members don't see this ad.

What are you going to do - bring a lawyer to your PD? Demand xyz and burn your bridges?

Your best bet is to work with your PD to the most flexible/useful time off scenario. Do not make enemies here when you’re under the wire. My bet is they are trying to put off your biggest block of time in case things go south so they can still cover you and keep you paid/insured.