Parental Leave Policy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drresident8288

Reaction score
I am a third year resident in a four year program, currently expecting my second child in June. I've seen that ACGME and our GME office has posted a policy stating six weeks of paid parental leave. When I went to submit the request, my program coordinator as well as the contact at the GME office informed me that while I'm allowed to take six weeks, only three are considered paid parental leave and the other three must come out of my vacation/sick time. Does this sound right? My understanding was they were supposed to offer six weeks, and you could use your annual/sick leave to extend if you wanted to take a longer leave.

Offering someone three weeks of parental leave sounds insane to me. My initial plan was to use the six weeks and then take 3-4 weeks of vacation/sick time that I've accrued to make a 9-10 week maternity leave, with some time off still left over for the year as I know I'll be getting called to pick up my child from daycare for various illnesses over the first year. I had 13 weeks off with my first child and I genuinely cannot grasp the idea of going back to work 6 weeks after having this baby. I guess this is just a "welcome to medicine" wake up call.

If it matters, this will be my first paid parental leave as my other child was born before residency. I do not mind making up time missed from rotations and graduating later if necessary.

Members don't see this ad.

Unfortunately, yes.

The ACGME description of their policy is here: ACGME Answers: Resident Leave Policies