My success story as a US-IMG applying for cardiology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Egghead34

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I’m writing this for fellow US IMGs who dream of matching into cardiology. Having now successfully matched, I wanted to share my experiences with the murky and labyrinthine process of the specialty match. Perhaps reading this can bring you some direction or clarity where I had none.
I went to one of the “big four” Caribbean medical schools. As a medical student I was unremarkable, without notable extracurriculars. I flunked a class my first semester and had to repeat it, then went on to get high B’s and low A’s as my remaining marks. I graduated in the middle of my class without special accolades or recognition, and matched into my 8th choice FM residency. Yes, you read correctly. Family medicine.
6 months into FM I had a change of heart and decided to try and subspecialize. To that end I reentered the match, got 1 interview, failed to match, and successfully scrambled into the one program that reached out to me. This is a small, community program of little repute, but in a big city surrounded by major academic centers.
As a resident I was excellent, and declared early on that I was interested in cardiology. I had the full support of my cards attendings and PD, though they themselves had no real pull or connections in the small world of cardiology. Yes, nepotism is alive and well in such a tight-knit field. I presented posters every year at our local ACGME competitions. I also presented grand rounds and M&M at our hospital, but nothing broader.