Low GPA and "safety" schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Syr

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

So I'm a graduate from the Univ. of Minnesota, with a 2.8 GPA from them, but a 3.02 overall, and a 2.86 last 60. My GRE scores aren't in yet, but my projected score was anywhere between 1390 and 1540, with verbal in the 99th percentile (for sure), and quant in the 57th to 80th percentile. Previous GRE score was in the 1100s, with a 4xx on quant, so my score has greatly improved.

I "majored" in public health, through an individualized degree. (Combine three minors, write a paper, it's a major.) I also majored in child psychology and Japanese. I'm interested in following a MCH track, possible MCH/Epi, though I have little hope for the second one. I've recently started my certification process as a doula (mother's labor assistant), and am hoping to become certified in that soon.

My letters of recommendation are coming from a veterinarian I used to work for, a professor from my last year of college (taught a public health course I got an A in), and from a research supervisor I've been working with for the last few months.

In short, what are my chances? Will my past GRE scores affect this application cycle? Will my better GRE scores make up for a poor GPA? I'm looking at Univ. of Minnesota first, obv, but I think I have little chance of getting in there. I'm convinced I have little chance of getting in anywhere. A little reassurance, or a little cold hard truth would be nice.

Also, regarding "safety" schools - what are they? Where are they? I'm afraid I'm aiming way, way too high on my list of schools I'm interested, and I'd like to know before I waste all my money on designations that I have no chance of getting into.

List of interested-in so far includes: U of MN, Emory (I adore their mental health concentration/add-on), SLU, U of GA, U of MI, and UPitt.

Members don't see this ad.