Job market in 2023

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mulberry

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I hate to start a new thread on this but...

I am a PGY3 internal medicine resident who has been deciding between sports medicine and rheumatology. I understand they are quite different subspecialties after doing brief electives in both. There is a great PCSM fellowship at my home program. My end goal would be 100% msk/sports if that is attainable after fellowship.

For those of you that have been looking for jobs recently, how does the market look? Still saturated? I can pretty much go anywhere but I would prefer to stay in the NE.
What starting salary would I expect out of fellowship?
Am I at a disadvantage applying as IM?

Give me reasons NOT to apply to PCSM fellowship...

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
@AJFKPU I know you did IM and had difficulty finding a job while you were in fellowship. Any input to the above would be greatly appreciated.

I'm an IM trained primary care sports medicine fellowship graduate. I graduated last year in 2022. I also have an experience of working as a teaching faculty with food publications in sports medicine. I'm still doing IM and I didn't find a sports medicine job. The only offer I had was in a rural town earlier this year which I had to turn down because of some kids health and spousal concerns.

Here are some blunt facts which AMSSM doesn't mention when they are selling you this fellowship. I apologize but they need to be considered befor getting into the path of sports medicine. Unfortunately they aren't positives.

1. Sports medicine jobs after IM would be harder to land when compared to FM counterparts.

2. Getting a 100% sports medicine job can be harder than getting a fellowship itself.

3. Fellowship is very competitive. 25-30% of programs will only take FM graduates.