Impending Probation- worried..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sme611

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi i'm a current intern and almost half way into the year things started taking a turn and escalating for worse. It started when several months into the year I began a new rotation that was more challenging, it took me time to get the hang of things but I felt I adjusted well and improved overall. Despite this I ended up failing that rotation even though I put in a lot of effort and felt I was learning as an intern. It seems tough there was some bias or false remarks from another resident that led to this, but were out of my control. Fast forward I failed other consecutive rotations, which seemed was a domino effect- and possibly related to the fact that I failed my first rotation. I have been trying really hard and told I had improved but seems it's hard to recover from the downfall and added stress from everything that's been going on. Now i'm advised the next step is probation. I'm really nervous as I came this far in life ( as the rest of us have) , despite doing well until now ie medical school, boards etc.

I'm looking for any advice or help from anyone that has experience in a similar situation.

There are ovbiously more details but left them out to remain anonymous and just posted a general picture.

Members don't see this ad.

I think the magnifying glass is real. You might be “ that” resident now.

Can you describe your actual deficiency? Do you know what the metric is for staff to call that fixed? Any personality problems with anyone? Any basic adulting problem (late for things, dragging on notes, missing meetings/didactic)?

Reactions: 3 users
I think the magnifying glass is real. You might be “ that” resident now.