I'm new to dating a med student...hellllp!!!

MakeupGF

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I met my my med student online, and after our first meeting (a perfect 4-day weekend he titled, "the BEST WEEKEND EVER") he asked me to be his girlfriend! We live about 3 states away from each other, and I have flown to see him since (he came to see me the first time). It was the summer when we started talking everyday online and on the phone.

School started for him and I knew it was going to be different but not THIS different. I've had a couple long term relationships and I'm able to keep them interested without any tricks :p but...

1. I'm wondering if the lack of attention (one phone call a week w/limited txting; he gets As on almost all exams) is a medical student thing? or is it a THIS guy thing? How can I tell??

2. Does anyone think long-distance AND dating a 2nd year med student is impossible?

I don't want to think that, because he was AMAZING :love: when I first met him, and he was not in school. Which guy is he??!! Any experienced advice would be very appreciated!!

Members don't see this ad.

It can be the same man. The man you first was him, undistracted. The current man is the same man, but distracted by his everyday life.

I'm sure others in your situation will give you advice, too, so I'll play the older voice of reason/unreason. What's the end game here? If you are not going to move three states to be with him, then... long distance relationships falter in the best of circumstances between people who have a great deal of history and commitment.

BEST WEEKEND EVER?! you say?

In that case, I think one phone call a week is good enough. They hardly have time for that sort of thing, which is why they sometimes want a sig other in the same field because they understand what their time management is. Once he becomes a fourth year, he will have lots more time. But, right now until the end of third year, you will just push your luck with several visits in a week.