Great GPA Low MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

84meddreamer84

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello people,
I need an advise on applying to med schools and I really appreciate your help.

I'm applying to med school for the third year. I applied before to 25 MD and 13 DO American schools but I got rejected from all. Now I'm planning to apply again plus to the carribeans.

I have a BA degree in biology, minor in anthropology, more than 148 credits (including Genetics, Molecular and Cell Biology). GPA is 3.8, Science GPA is 3.65. I have research background, tutoring experience, volunteered for more than 300 hours, worked full time as a phlebotomist is a hospital, and gained many scholarships and awards (Phi Beta Kappa ..etc)

However my mcat scres are low, for 2005 VR: 5 PS:6 BS:8
for 2006 vr:3 ps:4 bs 6 (I've gone thru a bad time)

if I apply this week to Saint George and AUC, will I have a chance? What do you guys think (keep in mind that I was a little late when I applied to the american schools, which might've affected the committee's decision)

if I don't have a chance, were would I? bearing in mind that I need financia aid too. Thanks a lot!!!!!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm really no expert man... I'm taking the MCAT this summer.

But I would study hard and retake the MCAT. If you get at least a mid 20... you'll have an amazing **** for the top 4 schools. Even US schools will give you a look (I think).

Take a year off if you can, take a MCAT review course, and apply early. Good luck with everything.

Members don't see this ad :)
Why is are your MCAT scores so low given your high GPA? Did you not study enough?

Why is are your MCAT scores so low given your high GPA? Did you not study enough?