Caribbean - School options with low GPA and MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

andy133

Reaction score
Folks I need help and honest advise, I am a recent graduate with a cumulative 3.4 GPA, I also just took the MCAT (two times) and scored a 484 (low). I was wondering what my chances of getting into a Caribbean schools and be able to get good residency match.

Also what are good schools... I okay with the money I need to spend there.

Members don't see this ad.

Take your time to retake and get a good score in the MCAT. Study for at least 3 months, take lots and lots of practice questions, and/or do a prep course if you have to. Caribbean schools are last resort options for when you have tried everything to get in a US MD or DO school unsuccessfully. Caribbean schools only give you a coin flip chance at residency (50-60% match in residency), and that's not counting the amount of students who never even make it to 4th year of medical school to even apply to residency (aka attrition). Your current MCAT scores are also not reassuring that you would even make it to 4th year either. Trust me Caribbean schools loves and thrives on desperate applicants like you because they are all for profit institutions looking to cash out your tuition money through federal loans. You don't want to be among those with $400K in school loans and no degree to show for it. Medical school is not going anywhere, so take your time to do it the right way and avoid taking shortcuts by going to the Caribbean. US MD or DO schools will give a better chance at matching in the residency of your choice than any Caribbean school can.

Reactions: 6 users