Fourth-Year Medical Student with Questions about Cardiology Fellowships

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pre-Medguy1995

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey y'all,

I am a fourth-year DO medical student with some questions about applying to cardiology fellowships. I only took COMLEX and scored okay (45th percentile) and have some aways lined up for some decent IM programs all with their own cardiology fellowships.

What do I need to be doing to be considered a competitive applicant?
Do board scores matter or is it more the performance in residency/research that you do in residency?
What kind of chance do I have having taken only COMLEX/should I go back and try and take STEP now?

I tried looking up the fellowship match data but the evidence is not super conclusive and even less strong as it pertains to DO students.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey y'all,

I am a fourth-year DO medical student with some questions about applying to cardiology fellowships. I only took COMLEX and scored okay (45th percentile) and have some aways lined up for some decent IM programs all with their own cardiology fellowships.

Do board scores matter or is it more the performance in residency/research that you do in residency?
What kind of chance do I have having taken only COMLEX/should I go back and try and take STEP now?

I tried looking up the fellowship match data but the evidence is not super conclusive and even less strong as it pertains to DO students.
Board scores matter. Fellowship programs still screen-out applicants based on USMLE scores. There are people who match with only having taken COMLEX but they are in the minority. Step 1 is useless now being pass/fail. You may benefit from taking Step 2 CS, but then you may have to explain why you only took one of the three USMLEs.