Extra-Curric stuff

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MJHUSKERS

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

My major is Biology, however I have earned a concentration in Strength and Conditioning and a minor in nutrition. I was just wonder if volunteering in the strength center helping athletes with technique and programming would count as a "Extra-Curric" activity. I spend near 4-8 hours helping the Strength coaches at my university and I have spent a lot of time trying to teach athletes about pre-hab exercises in between their sets instead of just standing around.

Anyways, I know it's not direct hospital experience, but would my experiences in the strength center be applicable to my application?

Members don't see this ad.

Also, to add to my previous question, does the more PT observation hours vs. the bare minimum PT hours make for an advantage when applying? Do schools like that you clocked 200 hours with a different PT's instead of the minimum requirement they set at 100 hours?

Hey Guys,

My major is Biology, however I have earned a concentration in Strength and Conditioning and a minor in nutrition. I was just wonder if volunteering in the strength center helping athletes with technique and programming would count as a "Extra-Curric" activity. I spend near 4-8 hours helping the Strength coaches at my university and I have spent a lot of time trying to teach athletes about pre-hab exercises in between their sets instead of just standing around.

Anyways, I know it's not direct hospital experience, but would my experiences in the strength center be applicable to my application?