Differences in curriculum/structure

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Flip1616

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm a prospective student finalizing my applications and list of schools. I'd like to get your thoughts on how different programs are structured. The programs are of course all similar, but some schools are 2 1/2 years, some are a full 3, some start with a lighter load the first summer, and some have summers off. Do you think the differences are meaningful? Would you have liked your school to have a different structure, and if so, why?

(I realize that even if I'm lucky enough to have a choice between programs, cost differences will likely trump other factors, but I'm still curious). Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think you should focus on structure of the curriculum. It is tough to say that one is better than another unless you personally have gone through both. One way to look at it is that all of these programs are created in the way they think will prepare you best for the NPTE. I would look at exam pass rates, tuition price, and maybe even talk to current students/alumni to see how their experience was.

Hi everyone, I'm a prospective student finalizing my applications and list of schools. I'd like to get your thoughts on how different programs are structured. The programs are of course all similar, but some schools are 2 1/2 years, some are a full 3, some start with a lighter load the first summer, and some have summers off. Do you think the differences are meaningful? Would you have liked your school to have a different structure, and if so, why?

(I realize that even if I'm lucky enough to have a choice between programs, cost differences will likely trump other factors, but I'm still curious). Thank you!