This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bguiloffs

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm an international medical student graduating December this year.
My plan is to ideally participate in the next match (opening this year). However, I see that interviews start generally from October through January. I have only passed Step 1 (with a competitive score, I think) and have to schedule my test taking for Step 2 CK and CS. I'm still finishing my clinical rotations so it's practically impossible for me to take Step 2 CS in the states until December. If I do it in December, my report could be ready as far as February 21 (2018). The ROL deadline this year was February 22. Theoretically, It might be ready by that time... but how does this late CS testing affect my chances at getting interviews with only Step 1 and 2 CK done? I wouldn't be verified or certified until February...

Any help? Suggestions?

Thank you very much to anyone who has some advice on this!

Ps. PD's are the ones who schedule interviews? Do I have no chances of rescheduling them?

Members don't see this ad.

It would benefit you to try and take it earlier at all possible. Whether it excludes you from interviewing is dependent on the program, but not getting your score back until right before ROL deadline is pushing it. Personally, I took mine late in the game, but still got several interview invites. Most my programs didn't care I hadn't taken it yet, but all wanted to make sure that I would have my score back in time. But again, it is dependent on the program. Program Coordinators (not PDs) are the ones responsible for scheduling interviews.

Reactions: 1 user