withdraw from match?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

confusedresident

Reaction score
I am a surgical prelim resident who did not match to a competitive surgical specialty. For this year's ERAS I applied to a different specialty and now I am regretting not applying to my previous specialty that I had spent the last 4+ years working on. I am now questioning whether it would make sense to withdraw from the match and re-apply next year?

I am a URM and first gen college graduate and wonder if that will make a difference in outcome from the norm for reapplicants. I have also spend considerable time pre medical school working in the field.

Any advice or ideas will be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am a surgical prelim resident who did not match to a competitive surgical specialty. For this year's ERAS I applied to a different specialty (have about 15 interviews) and now I am regretting not applying to my previous specialty that I had spent the last 4 years working on. My step 1 is 256 and step 2 is 251. I am now questioning whether it would make sense to withdraw from the match and re-apply next year? this makes me worried about what the consequences of withdrawing and also whether that would now diminish my chances to my back up specialty and leave me with no residency after.

Another consideration was continuing on with the match and if I match my new specialty- go through with it but reapply to my original specialty (as a PGY1) if I am still having these feelings of going back to my original specialty. In this scenario would I have to get a letter from my new residency or would a letter from my prelim PD suffice?

Any advice or ideas will be appreciated!