Options Following PGY-2 Residency Exit

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

slyfox

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
After lurking the sdn message boards for threads from people in similar positions to myself, I thought I'd ask for some specific advice. To keep it short, I was a family medicine resident for two years (2017-2019) before leaving after my second year due to help take care of my terminally ill father. Since then, I have re-applied to residency but unfortunately did not match. I currently have my medical license in the state I reside (TN), and perform medicare evaluations. I am currently looking but having trouble finding other clinical options to practice as a licensed physician before I eventually reapply to residency with a stronger resume with more clinical experience. Any thoughts? While I don't expect to make an attending salary without being board certified, I am not looking for unpaid or marginally paid positions, as I have a family to support and medical loans to pay off. Any help would be appreciated

Members don't see this ad.

As you probably already know, most clinics that participate in insurance plans are going to require board certification. I have seen state prison positions open in various states that do not require BC. Since you are re-applying to primary care, I'm assuming you're wanting a job that allows you to gain experience in that. Other options are veteran disability exams. That can help put food on the table but won't necessarily take your resume to the next level. 1-2 body parts pays about $125 per exam, 3-5 pays $250, etc. Last I heard there was a good demand for this, but it requires you have an office space available to you. I get emails from TBD Communications from time to time about these gigs.