Canadian Vet Schools (WCVM, UCVM and OVC?)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

beancat

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am going into my final year of high school next year, so I am considering my choices for university. I am currently an Alberta resident and I really want to specialize in companion animals in the future. I have a few questions about the possible vet schools I can attend!

Between WCVM, UCVM and OVC, what are some of the main differences between the schools? Is there any one of them that specializes more in companion animals? Also is there a big difference tuition-wise?

Also, I am aware that OVC requires Ontario residency by living there for 12 months non post-secondary, and I am planning to spend a few summers there. What documents do I need to prove my residency? I've heard good things about OVC but is it really worth the effort/different than the others aside from the rankings (which I know are not important)?

This is a really clueless question on my part, but where do the alumni from these schools usually go? I would like to take care of my grandparents after I graduate, and the climate in Alberta is not very good for them... I would love to be able to move with them to somewhere warmer and more humid like Vancouver or US. How would I be able to get a vet job in places like that? Does the school I go to matter or is the place you work just a personal choice?

For undergraduate schools, does anyone have any input between the Animal Biology majors in UBC and UofA? Is it difficult to find volunteer positions if I undergrad in Guelph due to the large amount of people interested in vet?

Sorry if some of my questions are really obvious or immature, I am really just a bit clueless and lost right now... I am the first one in my family and friends to be interested in applying to vet school, so I am trying to do as much research as possible. Thank you all so much! :)