Can you change Residency after 1st year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tsa723

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is it possible and how bad would it be to change residency after PGY1?

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, but its hard.

-You have to find a program which can be difficult
-You have to get your current director to agree which can be harder than you'd think ie. they have to release you
-I suppose its technically possible your old director could call your new director and tell them you are garbage
-Your old director can sabotage you - for example by refusing to approve your logs.
-In the future when you seek priviliges at hospitals they may contact everywhere you've worked so your old director may still be in your life.

When I was a resident the ratio of residents to programs was essentially ~1:1 and movement was probably fairly limited. There was a brief period a few years ago where jokingly it seemed like there were 50-100 unfilled spots across the country. No idea what the future will hold.

We are now living in a world where no one wants to go to podiatry (yay, open spots), but new schools are opening (boo) without creating residency spots. We'll see going forward how these 2 things balance each other out.

The later you do this - probably the harder it will be. I'm skeptical anyone wants a new resident they don't know to show up and be the 3rd year. Theoretically 3rd years have their attendings trust. Earning trust is hopefully how you get to do the bigger cases / be more involved (do something besides close).

You are also going to be dealing with issues where by transferring you may have done or not done certain off service rotations.

Reactions: 1 user