Applying to Manipal as an NRI with a low undergraduate GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

undeterred0523

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an undergraduate with a 2.0 GPA. I've had a tough time in college due to many personal problems at home. Now that I've come through all that, I genuinely want to pursue medicine. I know I have no chance at US Medical schools so as a US Citizen and NRI, what are my chances at Manipal?

What sort of criteria does Manipal look for in admissions for an NRI?

Members don't see this ad.

there is no such criteria for admission into medical colleges in india.. all u have to do is have an minimum average of 60% marks when you add up your scores in biology, chemistry and physics from your 12th grade marks.. and since u are an NRI.. you can either write the entrance exam.. or you can pay a so called "capitation fee".. which maybe 20-30 lakh rupess.. of not more if i am right.. indian medical schools do not consider gpa. I am telling this from my own experience since i am also a US citizen :)

I'm also considering going to Manipal...so there is no way we can get into a collge without the "capitation fee" ???? :/

Members don't see this ad :)
there is no such criteria for admission into medical colleges in india.. . or you can pay a so called "capitation fee".. which maybe 20-30 lakh rupess.. of not more if i am right..
You seem to be grossly misinformed. manipal definitely not so. There may be some colleges asking just the money. But that i s also very high.