NRI Thinking about going to India for MBBS in Sri Ramachandra Medical College

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Should I go to India or stay in the U.S. for Med school as a U.S. citizen?

• Stay in the U.S.

Votes: 6 100.0%
  • Go to India.

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

hike22

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

Just wanted to say that I'm new to these forums and excuse me if this is in the wrong section (I don't believe so..?). Alright, lets get started.

I'm a student in the United States as a senior (12th grade, high school). I'm currently taking the International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma program at my school. I have a perfect G.P.A. (4.0)

I'm at the crucial crossroads of picking where to study. I know I wish to become a doctor but I'm not sure whether to study in the United States (where I currently am) or in India. The particular Medical college in India I'm interested in is Sri Ramachandra Medical College (SRMC) located in Chennai, Tamil Nadu. The NRI fee there is roughly two hundred thousand USD. I also wouldn't need to take the entrance exam as they are still debating about it. My concerns are the atmosphere at the college and the different lifestyle change. I have no idea how the teachers are and I know the infrastructure in India isn't that great. I'm also concerned about coming back into the USA to get into a residency with the new administration changes here in the United States (and yes, I'm a U.S.A. citizen).

Lost as per what to do. Help!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)