any pharmacy career success stories?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wildcat5206

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
i graduated with a business degree with a 2.9 gpa and am thinking of doing pharmacy. Im 22 so if i do become a pharmacist ill be 27 years if age and im thinking going to community college for a year and finish up pre reqs and apply. Im very motivated to pursue a career in pharmacy and i believe i got the traits to be a good pharmacist. Just wondering is there any success stories of people going into pharmacy from a completely different background, a low gpa, and ended up being a pharmacist?

Members don't see this ad.

i graduated with a business degree with a 2.9 gpa and am thinking of doing pharmacy. Im 22 so if i do become a pharmacist ill be 27 years if age and im thinking going to community college for a year and finish up pre reqs and apply. Im very motivated to pursue a career in pharmacy and i believe i got the traits to be a good pharmacist. Just wondering is there any success stories of people going into pharmacy from a completely different background, a low gpa, and ended up being a pharmacist?

If you search through the site you will find all kinds of success stories of nontraditional students going back to pharmacy school from engineering, business, nursing and various other careers. There are always people that get into pharmacy school with low GPAs but applicants who do this bring something else to the table: hey have lots of pharmacy experience, great PCAT score, really strong pre req GPA just a low overall GOA or maybe they have lots of leadership roles in volunteering or promoting health in their community. Do not get discouraged because of low GPA but getting it up to a 3.0 would be a good thing and figuring out what sets you apart and can overshadow a low GPA is what is important.